Thread: Ply Suppliers??

Question Ply Suppliers??

Does anyone know if there is anywhere around the Edinburgh area that sells boat/canoe building supplies? I've been searchng and asking around, but noone seems to know.
    Ideally I would like to see the ply before I buy it,as I've been warned that there can be huge differences and if you're not really sure about all the differences of all the different kinds (spot the absolute beginner!!) it can be tricky to order online.
    If there aren't any companies around Edinburgh, do you know any reliable online retailers you could recommend?
    Thanks muchly.

Journal Entries

Hi Kat,

I think this depends on what thickness you want, and whether it needs to be marine or not. If you're using standard WBP / Exterior ply, it would be wise to inspect each sheet, as quality can vary. Exterior ply is more prone to have 'voids', i.e. gaps between layers, which can lead to weakness when building a canoe.

I found I could source 6mm marine ply no problem from suppliers around the Falkirk / Grangemouth area. Lawsons Timber in Edinburgh will also do you 6mm marine ply (20 per sheet according to their website).

However, I really wanted 5mm to save some weight, so bought mail order from Robbins Timber in Bristol. Postage was expensive, but the quality was superb, and I'd have no hesitation in recommending them for both wood and epoxy.

The thing I really struggled with was wood for gunwales. I ended up using oak, as it was the only thing I could get in the right size. However, if I had my time again......

Hope that helps!
    The Canoeist's prayer: "Lord grant me the serenity to walk the portages I must, The courage to run the rapids I can, And the wisdom to know the difference".

John Muir Trust - Wild Places for Nature & People.

Brilliant! Thanks very much Blutack. 6mm is actually just what I'm after for one of the canoes, so that's ideal....nice and close too.