Thread: Z-Pro Flash FL-100 Inflatable Kayak

Default Z-Pro Flash FL-100 Inflatable Kayak

Hi - I hope it's OK to post here. I was not able to post in the Inflatable Kayaks section for some reason.

I just thought that I would drop a line regarding my experiences with my Z-Pro Flash FL-100 kayak now that I've had it for a while. Apologies in advance - I've never written a report before so this is liable to be a bit rambling

First of all - here it is:

As can be seen it is quite low and wide. This makes it easy to get into (and out of!) and is very stable. I've taken it down some Grade 2 white water, gone over weirs and hit rocks and I don't think I was even close to capsizing once! With a proper stirrup pump the kayak can be ready to go in 10 to 15 minutes. The outer walls are inflated to about 3.6psi and it comes with a detachable floor panel which is inflated to about 7psi. The result of this is that it has a very solid and rigid feel:

In the floor are a number of drain plugs. They are a bit tight to open and close (a good thing probably to minimise leakage!) which come in very handy when white water kayaking. A number of times my kayak has been completely filled with water due to getting stuck against rocks in a fast flowing river, or going over weirs, and it floats fine although is obviously very sluggish. The drains plugs are handy for allowing the water to drain if you aren't in a hurry.

There's quite a bit of storage onboard with space to store wet bags and rucksacks in the bow and stern. There are also 6 d-rings for that added sense of security when you want to strap things into the kayak. On the bow there is also an elasticated tie-down area. I usually use this for storing the kayaks bag and stirrup pump.