Thread: All Paddled out

Ex Sunny Cornwall UK - Now Portland NW USA

Default All Paddled out

This is my first attempt at blogging.
    So I thought I'd do one about the paddles I made whilst waiting for the weather to warm up so I could do the Stitch & Glue
    It started like this -
    Ash Shaft with Cedar wings.

You can just see the panel pins, they are to locate the cedar when glueing up.

Cut the panel pins back to about 2mm

Then I pushed the cedar onto the cut pins without any glue so they made little indents into the cedar

It save having to stop the wings sliding out of line when clamping .

I used Cascamite for this as it is a glue I am used to using

Clamped !

Some severe sanding and shaping (apologies for no pics - but sanding is pretty boring) about 10 coats of Danish Oil later and Voila

I let in some Iroko slips on the top of the handle just for aesthetics

Then followed a second pair WTS
    Better to do something and regret it - Than regret not doing anything

Wow, what a lovely pair of paddles.
    Big Al.

Only when the last tree has died
    and the last river been poisoned
    and the last fish been caught
    will we realise we cannot eat money.
    ~Cree Indian Proverb

They're so pretty. I wouldn't be able to use 'em, I'd have to hang them on the wall in the living room.

Very nice, a proper credit to you. I just wish I had the time, patiance,and skill to make my own paddle.
    Last edited by retro; 13th-March-2008 at 09:42 AM.

Journal Entries

They look first class. I am sure your canoe is going to be a cracker.

Default Class!

Definitely a 'class act' there! The construction looked straight forward so thanks for posting, I might need it. What did the wood cost if I may be so bold? Also have you had much experience with cascamite? What limitations have you found using it.

Cheers, Peter.
    Older, but no wiser!

Quote Originally Posted by Voyager View Post