Thread: Hello to you all

Default Hello to you all

Hi All

Recently found this forum...........At last a dedicated open canoe site

I have some experience of surf kayaking, but have always loved the open canoes and consequently have had some lessons and am just about to embark on my bcu star tests......wish me luck

I am now at the stage of wanting to purchase my own craft. I want the ability of being able to go tandam [with wife or one of the rapidly growing kids] but expect much of the time to be solo.

I am lucky to live next to the River Wey, I fact my garden ends at the river bank.

Having lessons has shown me that a 16 footer is just a bit too long for a lot of solo padddling [in my very limited experience ]. My current thinking is to get a Mad River 14TT.

Would welcome any thoughts you folk may have.

Cheers

Welcome, again

I am sure you will get a lot of opinions about your canoe choice. It is worth having a look through the threads as similar questions have been asked recently. I have similar requirements to yours and went for a We No Nah 15 foot prospector and I am very happy with it but then again Doc has the same requirements and is delighted with his 15 foot Novacraft Bob Special.

You will read lots of different opinions but one thing we all agree on is that if you can try as many canoes as you can. It all helps to making your decision. So far it has shown you that 16 foot is probably a tad long. Something I tend to agree with but there is the possibility that a 16 foot boat with more rocker would be easier to paddle solo but still give the tandem capacity.
    John

monkey_pork is offline a wind age, a wolf age - before the world goes headlong Super Moderator

That's the great thing about canoes, the right one is out there somewhere.
    This is what 16' solo could look like:

[MP off Duncannon, 23rd April 2006, in his 16' Old Town Discovery Scout - as seen over the nose of Geisha's boat - which is a red version of this one]