Thread: Canoeing the Wye

Default Canoeing the Wye

Maybe this post could go into a newbies FAQ for everyone to come...?

I've had a good read of "this page" on canoeing the River Wye from Glasbury to Chepstow, though I don't think I'd carry on past Symonds Yat rapids.

I'm new to canoeing and this would be my first river trip with the family.(wife, 2 kids 8 & 10). I'm hoping to go over the May day bank holiday weekend as long as the weather looks reasonable (otherwise DIY for me )

2 questions :-
    • How far should I expect to paddle in a day, inexperienced and with someone who's not paddling fit. Is Glasbury->Symonds Yat over 3 days (76 miles) realistic ? Or should I be looking at around 15/20 miles per day ?
    • What do people normally do at journeys end regarding picking their car up from the start ? Rely on friends/family or is their a taxi/outfitter that can run you back for a fee ?
    Last edited by Newdaze; 20th-April-2006 at 07:24 AM.

wanting to run the wye was one of my main objectives when I decided to persue this canoe lark. Like you I was kinda stumped by how to get the ends joined up again.

I reckon leaving the canoe in Glasbury and running the car down to Monmouth first is the way, then try and get a bus/taxi/ friendly person to bring you back up to Glasbury. I'm going to be doing it solo, so a secure place to keep everything would be good..........
    Obscured by Clouds

Clipper Prospector 16

http://lostcoast.blogspot.com

Hi I did post but it got lost somewhere? I would think that 15-20 miles on a slow river like the Wye is as far as i would and have gone in a day! The Wye can be a bit slow at times. How long do you all paddle for usually on a day trip, and are you carrying all your camping kit?

I usually cycle between places when I canoe and this makes things easier with regard to lifts etc. I have paddled from Glasbury to Brockweir but it was a long old slog and took I think 4-5 days, with summer water levels.