Thread: The false economy..?!

Sheffield when it's Term time, Manchester area when it's not!

Question The false economy..?!

Howdy!!!

Just gettin started in the world of canoe building so i'm in need of a helping hand! (Also you have to forgive me if the questions im askin seem a touch dim!!!)

Just got some plans for a stitch and glue touring canoe... Ive got the wood, its all ready to cut up, and now i find myself contemplating the daunting world of resins..! Ive read alot of info about the stuff, and listened to the nice people at West systems propoganda, but i still find myself in a bit of a conundrum... Polyester or epoxy?!

I know this questions probably been answered a million times but i'm not a fast learner, especially when my budget is on the line!!! The canoe will only be used on a canal and possibly a flat lake, but it'll never see a river! And budget is upmost for me! I'm a student you see!!!

Ive got a large outdoor space to make it in and, if it means keeping my budget down, then i'll put up with the fumes! Basically, what ive been told is that polyester is just nasty smelling epoxy, ive talked to a guy who's only ever used poly and made two cedar strip canoes, as well as other, similar projects, people have said that if i used poly it would effect the sale value of my canoe but that if im only using it for canals then it'll do the job but then the other side of the argument says poly will kill me, my canoe will sink in an instant and at the end of the day i'll wish i used epoxy dispite my tight walleted tendencies! Is poly the false economy some people say it is or is it the unsung hero of my boat building dreams!!!

Any help is GREATLY appreciated and i apologise in advance if anyone feels I am or they are repeating previous posts!!!

Cheers!

Ian

Welcome along. Sorry but I am not that skilled to selfbuild however others will be along shortly.