Thread: Getting started around East Yorkshire / York

Default Getting started around East Yorkshire / York

Hi all,

Usual stuff, new to the forum, go steady!!

So I've just purchased two inflatable canoes for a bit of family touring, use on lakes, flat deep rivers and sea. I've got some kayak experience from a long time ago, RYA level 2 sailing experience and a reasonable amount of powerboat and water sports experience. So reasonably water aware etc..

The canoes I have a Sevylor Madison 2 person. My wife and I and two 10 year old boys will use them.

To get going this weekend, I'm looking for somewhere to have a bit of a play in East Yorkshire/York, and maybe paddle a mile or two up/down a river. Also have friends with us, so some of the party will be hanging out/pick-nicking riverside etc..

My thoughts are either putting in at Old Malton, Kirkham Abbey, or Stamford Bridge on the Derwent, or maybe somewhere north of York on the Ure / Ouse.

I'm least familiar at present with access rights, and don't want to upset anyone, and this makes me a little nervous about the Derwent.

So any specific recommendation for the area, somewhere senic to impress the visitors, easy to put in and out and swap paddlers a few times, and somewhere where those not paddling can participate from the bank! If that's not too much to ask!

:wq

Welcome to the forum. In the absence of Mal Grey who normally suggests this as a starting point, try paddle points
    http://www.paddlepoints.net/

Hopefully sometime local to you will be along soon to help you out.

Meanwhile, happy paddling.
    Big Al.

Only when the last tree has died
    and the last river been poisoned
    and the last fish been caught
    will we realise we cannot eat money.
    ~Cree Indian Proverb