Thread: Hi from Glos.

Default Hi from Glos.

Hi all;

Found this site after reading lots of canoe-related posts on the BushcraftUK site. I built a stitch and glue canoe about three years ago and have done a bit with it on the Avon and on a few canals. Looking to do some flat water stuff mainly as I don't think it would take too many rocky bumps. Complete self-taught novice who just likes to potter. Thought I'd look at some canoe clubs to get started and meet like minded folks but they all seem to have a distinct white water kayak bias - any opinions/experience with clubs?

Joe

Hello and welcome, plenty of paddling round your area

Hello and Welcome!

Can't help you on the clubs specific, but there are definitely some with a strong open canoe side as well as the whitewater stuff, and joining makes sense. It might also give you access to club canoes if you ever fancy trying the white water bumpy stuff. There are other members closer who might recommend one.

Plenty of sheltered waters around you; Gloucs and Sharpness Canal, the Avon you mention, parts of the Severn. You've also got the lovely upper Thames not far away, everything between Lechlade and Oxford is quiet and surprisingly remote.
    Paddler,blogger,camper,pyromaniac: Blog: Wilderness is a State of Mind

Paddle Points - where to paddle

Quote Originally Posted by Mal Grey View Post
    Hello and Welcome!

Can't help you on the clubs specific, but there are definitely some with a strong open canoe side as well as the whitewater stuff, and joining makes sense. It might also give you access to club canoes if you ever fancy trying the white water bumpy stuff. There are other members closer who might recommend one.

Plenty of sheltered waters around you; Gloucs and Sharpness Canal, the Avon you mention, parts of the Severn. You've also got the lovely upper Thames not far away, everything between Lechlade and Oxford is quiet and surprisingly remote.
    Thanks, Mal.

Welcome from far away