Thread: Good afternoon all!

Red face Good afternoon all!

Hello!
    I'm new to the kayaking scene. Recently bought a double SOT kayak for me and my girls to use.
    I have 3 children aged 7, 8 & 13... all who love the sea and anything water related.
    I bought a 2 man SOT kayak for us to use when we visit mersea Island in Essex which is a favourite haunt of ours. We had a little sea kayaking lesson while there last week (in the most horrendous conditions; wind blowing a hoolie and the tide against us) and we did ok given the conditions. My eldest and I have done lots of lessons in local a swimming pool (fun though a little boring) I thought it time to get our own.
    Myself and each child in turn ventured out for a very short paddle in the sea last week while at East mersea.
    I am a single mum and if I'm honest I am a little daunted about venturing out alone with my 14 year old (or the younger ones) having such little experience myself. My eldest and youngest are relatively strong paddlers.
    I guess I'm looking to you all experienced paddlers for a little support. (Please tell me we're not going to die! Lol)
    Ok, so I'd like to take them paddling the local(ish) rivers, I've been doing a little research here and many have suggested lots of nice easy paddles. I guess my main concerns is the practical things such as parking, where to get in/out, dealing with locks. As said I am very inexperienced and on my own with the girls so wouldn't want to get myself into diffulculty. Ideally I'd like a super easy in and out, easy paddle etc. Just to build the confidence of the little ones - "mum knows what's she's doing!" Kind of senario!
    Sorry waffling now! Any advice/ suggestions greatly recieved! Thank you!