Thread: family canoe trip

Default family canoe trip

hi, this is my first post on the forum ,i have been reading the posts with enjoyment for some time ,i was wondering if any of you good people would know of a place to suit my needs for a family canoe trip. .i am planning to take the wife and 2 small kids on a weekend canoe trip over easter,and was hoping to find a place suitable for a paddle ,somewhere i can get the 4x4 into the waters edge and camp with a fire next to.i know of places like this up north but would prefer maybe not such a travel over easter.are there any good places like this in the central belt,ayrshire areas.i am fairly new to the canoe scene and know of plenty of lochs etc but to actually think how close you can get to the waters edge with a vehicle if you have not already been.the reason i want to camp as close to the water is i will have to manage most of the lifting canoes (allagash 164), erecting tents etc (tapp varrie 7 ) because the wife is a novice and the kids would need to be supervised by her while i do everything needed at camp.i would like this trip to be enjoyable for them ,so that they would be desperate to go again,you know what they say about first impressions

Hi Gill

Glad to see you posting. What about Cashel

http://www.forestholidays.co.uk/cara...tes/cashel.asp

Right on the banks of the Loch. A proper camp site so all the luxuries for the kids. You can launch straight from the site or take a short drive to Balmaha or Rowardenan.
    John

I was going to suggest that, but John beat me to it. Another option might be Strathyre, the campsite is beside the river and only a short paddle onto Loch Lubnaig. If your wife is in charge of the kids then I am sure she would appreciate a site with full facilities, although having a fire might not be an option at these sites.