Thread: plywood IC?

Default plywood IC?

Hello everyone,
    my name is Martin and I am new in this great forum! Several years ago I sailed an International Canoe, but I stopped it because of a spinal surgery. Now I want to try it again, but here in Germany it is not easy to get a second hand boat. An alternative could be a plywood stitch and glue boat. Does someone have practical knowledge about building an IC with this method? Or, if not - maybe other sailing canoes come close to the IC in speed and sporty sailing??? I am open for alternatives...

I don't have a contact for him, but I suggest you try to contact Tony Martin of West Kirby Sailing club, a knowledgeable IC owner, sailor and dabbler

Impcanoe

Selway Fisher have plans for IC 10 International canoe.

http://www.selway-fisher.com/Sailcanoe.htm#IC10

I have no idea about such high performance boats! I thought walking the plank was something pirates did.

Doug
    When there's trouble on shore, there's peace on the wave,
    Afloat in the White Canoe.
    Alan Sullivan

Of all my sailing experiences, IC fine reaching on the end of the plank with the spray whistling between your feet and the edge of the boat, ranks amongst the finest. (5o5, monster kite, big wind, big waves downwind; RS 700, kite, trapeze, on the racks, broad reach; Int 14, twin wire to windward on a flattish sea; Dragon, to windward in medium blow; Half tonner, under kite, broad reach on the cusp of broaching; 12 metre,walking from one wheel to the other in a tack

Impcanoe

The Selway Fisher boat looks like just what was requested.
    Thanks for showing it, I had no idea.

There is a Skin on Frame sailing canoe, but I'm not sure it was ever developed enough.
    http://gentrycustomboats.com/Olympia.html

Ply wood is a cheap way of doing it. I have just finished building one myself