Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Canoe - Rudder & Tiller Ideas

Default Canoe - Rudder & Tiller Ideas

When I decided to start sailing my nearly new canoe, I tried to come up with a clip-on rudder system that meant I wouldn't have to drill any holes into the hull.

I started by buying a rudder complete with head stock and tiller, from ebay. Apparently the rudder was from a Lark sailing dinghy.

My next step was devise a method of attaching it to my canoe. I started playing about with ideas.

Then by laying some plywood across the stern of my canoe, I figured a way to clamp it down using the gunwales and then started shaping and joining timber, building down until I had developed this box section to attach the rudder to.

The completed, painted system.

Because I really like the idea of using a traditional tiller rather than the push/ pull system, I decided to stick with the Lark tiller design and simply replaced the old Lark tiller with some hardwood around 9 inches longer, so I could reach it.

The problem I then faced was the sweeping action of the tiller kept fouling with the sheet bridal cord and I couldn't get full range of movement from the tiller. I needed to come up with a method that allowed me to tie the bridal cord to the stern of the canoe and allow the tiller to move the full range under it. Hmm... tricky.

As it happened, I had some angle iron in the garage and just started bending it and shaping it around the tiller until I came up with a steel frame. I took it to a local welder, who welded the corners secure, I painted it and fitted it to the box section.

This works a treat and has served me well for nearly 3-years now, but I am not sure it is that pretty to look at.

It is also a fair weight and as a result, my canoe sails tail heavy, bow light.