Thread: Outfitting My Canoe

Default Outfitting My Canoe

My choice of title for this article was made carefully. This is not a general article on outfitting, covering all the many permutations according to country, environment, taste or use. Rather, it is very much about how I outfit my canoe for the work and journeys that I do in the UK and Europe. By contrast, if I were outfitting a Kevlar boat for flat water it would be very minimalist.

My Wenonah Prospector 16’ is used on white water up to and including grade 3 and open waters with considerable fetch, including coastal. I have been using a similar set-up for some twenty years now. So, I hope in this context, what I have to share will be useful to you and others paddling in similar environments under similar circumstances.

The Bare Boat: Starting With A Fresh Canoe

The bare boat. A Wenonah Prospector 16′.

The bare boat: A Wenonah Prospector 16′. It’s a great multi-purpose design derived from a very traditional craft. It has plenty of rocker and a nice shallow arch cross-section, which means I can easily roll it onto its edge paddling solo.

Because I want to lash in airbags and other kit we are marking up the side to thread a rope all the way down the side.

Marking up the side to thread a rope all the way down the side.

I use a three-inch spacing in the airbag area and a four-inch one elsewhere: many others will use an equal spacing but this is what I have settled on over the years.
    I need the holes far enough below the gunwale to make it useable on the inside but I don’t want to drop it too far as solo I often use the canoe heeled right over and there will be some seepage through the holes.
    The width of the tape measure seems about right as a marker.

With a steady hand Lina doesn’t bother to put masking tape on the Royalex but just drills away. Another hole mark is above the ‘n’ of nah.

Feeding the cord through the holes.