Thread: Question ref access?

Default Question ref access?

Hi All, I just went to go for a paddle on a local river in south wales Ewenny, I intended to use a public footpath which crosses the river by ewenny priory as i approached the river the local landowner / care taker approached me an told me i could not paddle down the river, as it was privately owned, i told him he ownes the land but not the water and it if it is navigable then i have every right to paddle on it. He told us that he had birds on the river and if we scared them off then we could be held responsible i was expecting them to be a rare breed but when i asked what birds he told me they were ducks!! now i am fairly new to this canoeing lark and unfortunatley i do not know enough about the law as to whether i could canoe or not, any ideas? needless to say he drove off but i did not get to have a paddle as my friend did not want to risk it.

cheers

Paul

Hi,
    Short answer, Yes you are allowed to canoe there. I frequently canoe on rivers that have no specific navigation act or agreement.

Long answer, the Rev. Caffyn's research shows that since pre Roman times all navigable rivers are open to anyone who wants to navigate them, and the Magna Carta and 1472 Weirs and Fishgarths Act state this is allowed. The relevent sections of these laws have never been cancelled or replaced, so are still in force. However, although those that disagree with this arguement have been unable to produce any evidence or legal objections, it has never been tested in court. I suggest you read the main threads in the access section of forum, but you do seem to understand the basics already and you have experienced some of the rubbish arguements that will be used to try and stop you canoeing.