Thread: Spoon Knives..................?

Default Spoon Knives..................?

I'm looking at trying my hand at a bit of fireside whittling this winter and fancy a spoon knife. Any thoughts/recommendations on Mora, Svante Djarv, Ben orford, other? If Mora then double sided or single sided?
    I'm a complete novice (I have made a couple of stitch and tape boats but you don't need a spoon knife for them ) and any advice will be gratefully received.

Cheers,

Al

The Moras are good ,I have both single and double sided,the latter being good for bowls and kuksas.
    Seen some of Ben Orfords stuff too and thats really good .Whatever you decide on keep em sharp and they will do the job.
    Andy.

hi Al,i have the mora single edge but could never get a good edge on it,probably my bad technique, but i once put a nasty gash in my hand with a blunt spoon knife that required 8 stitches and could see the bones in my hand.Then had to drive myself 25miles to hospital.Be very cautious when drawing towards yourself with it,that was my painful lesson learned the hard way.I am very very careful using it now

I've carved a fair few spoons, kuksas and the odd bowl and my recommendation would be a Ben Orford hybrid handle standard sized spoon knife to suit your dominant hand. Ben is a great guy to deal with and makes fabulous tools. The other option would be to get in touch with Duncan Chandler at http://www.dorsetwoodlandblades.co.u...oodworking.htm. Duncan makes excellent blades and I own a few. The best one to start with would be a standard blade to suit your dominant hand.

Drawing towards you is the way most people including myself, carve spoons and the like. There are other techniques out there but best to keep things simple at this stage.