Thread: Buying From Solway Dory

Default Buying From Solway Dory

Before I start, I just want to say that I am in no way connected to Solway Dory professionally, socially or otherwise, though I have bought quite a few bits from them this year.

I have also refrained from posting something along these lines just in case they put their prices up before I finished buy everything I needed, but I need so say something now that I am sorted.

This year, after buying my canoe, I discovered the wonderful world of Solway Dory, a small company in the Lake District that makes most things devoted to sailing canoes, including some very special sailing canoes as well.

Okay, why post something I hear you ask? Well as a dinghy sailor, I have been buying sailing gear since the 1980's and one thing I have come to learn is that everything & anything related to boats is expensive and quite often the quality is nothing special. So imagine my surprise when I discovered Solway Dory who sold me a fantastic professional sailing rig for around 200 plus around another 100 for a wonderful leeboard in beautiful ash hardwood, carved and shaped to perfection.

Put it this way, a simple cover for my Enterprise sailing dinghy cost me the best part of 400 and a main sail & jib sail from my boat would cost nearly 1000 for just the sails, no mast or boom included. In a nutshell, I have no idea how they do it and make any profit whatsoever.

I have just come back from Ashbourne in Derbyshire after a weekend with the family and spotted a pond yacht (Model sailing boat), very popular in Victorian days. I asked the shop assistant for the price and was told 300!! I said "Your joking right, I bought a full size sailing rig & solid ash leeboard for about that money!" and left the shop. After doing a little research tonight, the model yacht was priced about right as it turns out, yet further illustrates just how great value the Solway Dory rigs really are.