Thread: Aquatic Pursuits KY2 Pioneer 2 man inflatable kayak review

Default Aquatic Pursuits KY2 Pioneer 2 man inflatable kayak review

OK, here's the first thing you need to know I'm new to inflatable kayaking but used to do quite a lot of standard kayaking back in my youth. You should also know that I paid 165 for this including delivery.

Now here's what I think of the KY2, in order of importance to me:

The KY2 tracks really well. It has 2 keels/skegs on the bottom of it (one towards the front and one towards the back). It feels as though I'm in control the whole time and it goes where you intend it to go (or where your stroke takes you). It tracks well when I paddle solo (with the seat adjusted so that I'm positioned towards the centre of the kayak), and also when I have my 4yr old daughter in there and when I'm much more towards the back.

It is strong. And it is quite heavy. As I've said before, I have no experience of other inflatable kayaks but I can tell you from what I've read this is almost certainly stronger and heavier than any of inflatable in this price bracket. I can't tell you what is covered in, but it is a very thick protective shell over the inflatable bladders (which are removable). Granted, it doesn't look the greatest finish in all aspects of workmanship but frankly that's just not important to me. Everything seems to be solid and secure. I sense that this will take scuffs, scrapes and scratches to a decent degree and simply keep going. It is of course very stable.