Thread: Ketch rigs advice and comments.

Default Ketch rigs advice and comments.

I've been increasingly interested in how a ketch rigged canoe would be to sail, specifically I have no experience of sailing with a mizzen and have no idea what techniques are used or even the mechanics of how the sail is controlled on different points of sail. I've searched online and found very little information on the subject (and what there is relates more to yachts and keelboats). What are the advantages and disadvantages of a ketch rigged canoe over one with a single large mainsail?
    At the moment this is just speculation for me but I have been wondering whether in future I may like to add a small (14sq ft) mizzen to my canoe and fit an alternative mast foot/thwart further forward to mount my existing 35sq ft rig when using it in a ketch configuration.
    My priority in setting up my canoe for sailing has always been to maintain as much versatility as possible and although the bias seems to be creeping ever closer to sailing over paddling I'd like to keep the ability to use my canoe in different configurations on the scale between pure paddling boat and outright sailing canoe. I feel that having the option to add a bit more sail area may become a priority at some point (probably next season) and I think a ketch rig would suit my canoe better than a single large bermudan (although I haven't ruled that out either) and would certainly be a bit cheaper (cost isn't the overriding factor though). Any thoughts or words of wisdom from the cognoscenti?

A ketch rig has several very useful features.
    The combined centre of effort is lower than a single sail so you can carry more sail area without as much overturning moment (More drive with less capsizing force).
    The main and mizzen can be set quite low as you can sit in the gap between the two sails and the booms will not hit you on the head.