Thread: Canoe sailing - where do I start?

Question Canoe sailing - where do I start?

The current weather has prevented me from getting out on my local water (the Exe estuary). It's wide and long and allows the wind to really pick up on an otherwise not so windy day.

I was reading another thread on how to tack and thought this sailing thing might be just what I need to let me enjoy a day on the water even when it's too windy to paddle (like today).

I have an Old Town Penobscot 164 (not Royalex) it's 34kg (75lbs). It has two seats, the yolk and another brace:

Image of the Penobscot 164 from AS Watersports where I bought it.

I'd like to start with something SIMPLE that I can make myself (partly to keep costs down, partly so I know I can repair it if necessary).

An absolute must is that the canoe remain perfectly suitable for normal paddling on calm days. I'd like things I can bolt onto the gunwales and remove.

The simpler the sail is to manage the better. I don't know anything about sail design or style so will rely on those more experienced than myself. I'm not looking to break any records; a nice glide on the water will suffice. The most important factor would be the ability to tack into the wind, so whatever sail design allows me to sail closest to the wind is probably best for me.

Furthermore on the simplicity side, do I need a rudder, or could I just steer with my paddle?

Looking at your location... your best place to start would be the Open Canoe Sailing Group Meet on 4 -5 June at Roadford Lake if you can make it: see the national meets calendar here.

That's a long way to go for the northern-based folk... but hopefully you'd get to see (and with any luck try) a fair few sailing canoes.