Thread: Hi From West Yorkshire

Default Hi From West Yorkshire

Hi all,
    Just invested in a mad river explorer 16 tt, I am new to canoing and any advice or tips are welcome , I come from a sailing background , but still feel a need to get to parts of rivers and areas a bigger boat can not get to. and try to satisfy the call of the paddle, Ive been monitoring this site for a couple of weeks now, and find it a friendly and knowledgeable site and looking forward to meeting a few of you, Peter.

Let me be the first to welcome you - as I was welcomed here just a short time ago. Hope you enjoy the site - and the new canoe. I have one and it has been a great river canoe and does well enough on lakes too.

I have some ancestors from Yorkshire. They lived in East Ardsley. Going to have to come see it someday though I hear it is a bit less pastoral than when they lived there.

PG

Welcome Pete

I am sure with a background on the water you will soon adapt to the canoe. We have a few members in the Yorkshire area now, I think. I could be wrong as I get easily confused with the areas in England. A confusion that is not helped when the middle bit of England keeps getting referred to as "The North"

Any questions or problems just ask.

PS Pierre I deleted the multiple posting. Probably caused by an INTERNET gremlin
    John

Smile Canoeing in Bedfordshire

Hi, I'm a member of Leighton Buzzard Canoe club. We generally take part in flat water marathon and sprint racing, but there are a number of Touring Canoes in use int he club.

We are keen to find different places for day trips in the Bedfordshire area, (at least within an hours drive of Leighton Buzzard). So if you have any suggestions, I would love to hear them.

Derrick

Default welcome to the fold

hi, pete k, i,m from castleford any where near you? i am still looking for an open canoe at the moment reading reveiws checking prices etc (tight git realy)have you been out on yours yet?hope you enjoy it. best wishes rob sample