Thread: Getting Back In To It

Newcastle upon Tyne, Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom, 113194725360629, Newcastle upon Tyne

Default Getting Back In To It

I stopped paddling Kayaks and Open Boats around eight years ago when my job took over. I was a level three kayak coach and level 2 open boat. In the eight years I have stopped I have since been married and have a young family.

My daughter is four and loves being in and around the water as we already go sailing and do other water sports. I miss paddling on sheltered waters and white water and would like to get back into it as I think my daughter would really enjoy it and would give us another excuse to get into the great outdoors.

Has anybody got any advice on how to get back into it and I expect things have changed slightly since the last time I paddled.

Phill33

Default It's like riding a bike.

This is just the time to get your young un into the sport. Local canoe group? I am sure that they would welcome an experienced paddler like you with open arms.

Hope you get fixed up.

Welcome,

Charlie
    It's turned out nice again!

Default I expect things have changed slightly since the last time I paddled.

Nope, 1 blade, 2 blade, strokes have been the same for a millennium. The only change is the price of boats: my first 30 years ago cost £20: a princes fortune, my latest, I cannot tell as my son reads this and always tells his mum.

Actually the biggest change is the BCU. They have moved to match the general coaching qualification and you might find you need to re-test to maintain your qualifications. I found I had to start again (after a longer gap) and am only just a qualified coach again after previously being a professional instructor.

Tyro
    "Oh, Eeyore, you are wet!" said Piglet, feeling him.Eeyore shook himself, and asked somebody to explain to Piglet what happened when you had been inside a river for quite a long time.