Thread: "Discover Canoeing- a complete introduction to open canoeing" by James Weir. A review

Default "Discover Canoeing- a complete introduction to open canoeing" by James Weir. A review

When I took up canoeing a few years ago, I looked for books on the subject. With the exception of Bill Mason's books (Path of the Paddle still seems like the obvious choice to me), all of the books I found (and bought) were at least half filled with information on kayaking. No problem, but I wasn't interested in kayaking!

I was pleased to see that this book concerns itself solely with the open canoe. It's certainly easy to read and covers all of the subject matter you'd expect. A problem for any author of this type of work is that a complete novice really needs very little information and needs it presented simply. A book with only that information is called a pamphlet! So the author presents material which will whet the reader's appetite and hopefully allow them to begin to explore the types of paddling that most interest them in safety.

James Weir doesn't make a bad job of it either, for the most part. If anything there's a bit more here than required, but that's better than having too little. Good sections on clothing, canoes, paddles, first-aid et cetera, are supplemented with sections of more limited interest, like the 14 pages on rolling a canoe.

The emphasis of this book is definitely on having fun in a canoe. Plenty of safety information is given, and it's presented in a sensible and palatable way. The main thrust, however, is that you should really just get in a canoe and try it out. Can't disagree with that!