Thread: Hi!

Default Hi!

Hi!

Just a few words to introduce myself...
    I'm a 20 year old Student at Exxeter, and at the moment i'm building a cedar strip-planked Kipawa - 16'6"...
    I've done a bit of canoeing before, but mainly rowing and sailing... looking forward to giving it a go!

Anyway, bye for now

Welcome

You must post pictures of the canoe when it is finished. You can even do a thread describing the process, if you are feeling up to it
    John

It's good to see there is someone else out there who appreciates the qualities of a real wood canoe, I was begining to think that everyone was happy to jump into a plastic boat.

I too have just started on a cedar stripper, but of my own design, also 16' 6" long.

I'll be interested to hear how get on .

Steve

I would love to have a wooden boat but I would be so scared of damaging it I fear it would never get used.
    John

Steve - what stage are you at? I've done about 75% of the planking of mine, but now that i;m back at uni it'll be a while before I can do much more!

Now here's a question - what would anyone think having a wooden canoe would limit you to - i've not done much canoeing but I presume that whitewater is pretty much out of the question - anyone got any ideas?

Kipawa - only just starting fabrication, spent quite a bit of time tweaking the design until I was happy with it, basically just cutting out my station molds at the moment, although have also been making paddles as well.

Kipawa & Magikelly, from my research into woodstrip canoes well known manufacturers claim overall they are just as strong as many other manufactured methods of construction, I have read reports of these canoes being catapulted off the tops of cars due to insecure tie-down
    and an incident whereby a packing case containing a canoe was crushed by heavy machinery, and yet the canoes suffered only superficial damage.