Thread: Eletric outboard motors

Default Eletric outboard motors

Hi all,am purchasing an electric outboard for my 16ft Apache canoe,for going back up river,and wondered if 28/30 lb thrust was adequate,thanks in advance

Bernie

Savanna, Illinois USA-on the banks of the Mississippi River

I have an acquaintance that used such a motor and a deep cycle battery to take an old and heavy fiberglass canoe about the Mississippi backwaters for a whole day. He claimed to have power to spare at the end of the day. I have no personal experience however.

And a warm welcome
    Regards,
    Mike

For comparison purposes, I have a Minn Kota 50lb thrust and it easily powers my 16" MR Explorer with myself, wife and 2 children onboard. (this was against the flow of a tidal river)
    The time depends on which power battery you purchase but I have a 110AH and it lasts about five hours on full throttle. On full throttle it nearly rips the gunwhale of the canoe so i would imagine 30lb is plenty.

i have a 36 lbs thrust moter it easily powered my old discovery scout (no lite wieght ) up the trent

Thanks for the advice

Bernie

Well iv'e just purchased a Yamaha 36 lb thrust motor,will let you all know how i get along with it

Bernie

I never would have thought an electric outboard would have gotten anywhere near 5 hours of use on a single charge. I'm impressed.

I've done some basic estimates of power needed to propel a canoe. A reasonable figure seems to be about 45 watts or so. This equates to an electrical power input to the motor of about 70 watts when cruising gently (the difference is due to motor and prop losses). Power demand at hull maximum speed (maybe 1kt or so above cruise speed) may be around 4 or 5 times greater though.