Thread: WW practice on Thames weirs?

Default WW practice on Thames weirs?

Not sure if this is the best part of the site to post this but here goes. I went on Amelia's first beginners' introduction last week and really enjoyed it. However I am in dire need of practice (I seemed to get into eddies a bit further downstream than the ones I was heading for). Realistically, the only way I can do this over the next few weeks would be somewhere in my area. Are there any of the Thames weir streams that are suitable for practicing at a fairly basic level?

If the answer is yes, is this something that folks would like to do as a meeting, say one Saturday for a half day? If so I could post something on the relevant section.

I believe that Hurley weir is meant to be the best on the Thames for this sort of thing. Probably a good idea to check out what sort of levels the water needs to be first though. I have no experience, so cannot answer that last bit.

Richard.
    You don't stop playing because you are old, you get old because you stop playing.

Can't offer much advice on Thames weirs as I've not seen any of them, except that I suspect Hurley would be too much for a novice open boat, here it is on 2 gates (can go up to 4):

I would also add that you can very usefully practise whitewater skills on flat water, and I reckon if you kept working on your forward power strokes and turn sequences the next time you get on whitewater you'll find everything much easier.

If you PM me your email addy I can email you a few notes, including some exercises to try etc.

There's some info on Thames weir playspots here.
    Last edited by Amelia; 22nd-October-2008 at 08:45 PM.
    'Of all the paths you choose in life, make sure some of them are wet'